The Baby Whisperer

Ever since I was around the age of 8, I’ve always loved babies.  I remember one of the first times I came to this realization was when one of my cousins was born. I was so excited to be able to hold her.

From that moment on, I’ve always loved trying to make babies laugh or smile. Every once in a while, I’d encounter a baby who wouldn’t be amused at this strange man making faces at them and I’d almost get to the point of feeling sorry for myself and thinking what is wrong with me. I always truly believed that I could make any baby smile. I knew that God had blessed me with a very unique gift.

Well, my gift lay dormant for a few years until I met Kristie. I don’t think she even knew how much I loved children.  On the other hand neither of us knew that babies would be magically drawn to me.  It seems wherever we’d go, babies would just stare at me.  We would be in a restaurant and if a baby was in view of me, it would end up staring at me.

At first, I tried to ignore it, thinking perhaps maybe there was something on my face that was getting the attention of this child. I tried not to make eye contact with them, thinking they’d eventually get bored or tired.  I can only imagine what their parents must have been thinking. “Why is my child staring at this strange man?”

I must admit, that thought crossed my mind quite a few times.  Kristie couldn’t figure it out either so we just accepted the fact that babies were drawn to me and that I was going to have to learn to live with it, so Kristie came up with this nickname for me: Baby Whisperer. I think it fit rather nicely.

I use humor to point this out, but the fact is, Kristie and I both loved children and desired to have our own.  We went through some interesting circumstances for the first five years of our marriage, where it would’ve been unwise for us to have children. PCOS, I believe wasn’t the real reason why God didn’t give us any children for the first 6 years of our marriage. I’m confident that God isn’t scared off by some little thing like a fertility issue.

I’ve seen firsthand God blessing couples dealing with the same issues we were dealing with. It was tough, though watching our friends have children, and yet desiring to have our own. We rejoiced but yet we still dealt with sorrow.  In those moments, we felt like God had forgotten about us. We just continued to remember God’s promise that he answers prayers and that He wants to grant us the desires of our hearts if we submit to Him.

We knew nothing was impossible with God and we were reminded of that in a very powerful movie that came out in 2006 from a church in Georgia.

I’m thankful for God’s Word in this time and for God’s people. We weren’t left alone during this time but had close friends who were going through the same things and we also had many friends and family members praying for us and encouraging us. I truly don’t know where we’d be without them.

God gave us Jadon almost two years ago and for us and for God, the timing was perfect.

One thing that I learned through this is, don’t try to rush God.  His timing is always perfect. We are by nature, impatient human beings who think sometimes that God should see things our way and that He should act when we want Him too. I, at times, felt this way.  I never consciously thought this or verbalized it, but in essence, I was expecting and hoping for God to act according to my timetable.  When I finally let go of my expectations and gave all of my hopes and dreams to Him, He turned right back around and blessed us, answered our prayers and gave us the desires of our hearts.

In no way is this a formula for getting what we want, because we can’t bargain with God.

I also realize that there are people that God chooses not to bless with children no matter how much they want it and pray for it to happen.

We can be tempted to question why God is doing what He’s doing, and we may never understand His purposes.  But we can be sure that He does have a purpose and He wants only what’s best for us to make us more like Him.

I’m thankful that God doesn’t work the same way in every similar situation.

Where would our faith be if there was some sort of formula or step by step process to our prayers getting answered.

One thought on “The Baby Whisperer

  1. We are all so impatient, it does get easier to wait on God the older and wiser you become. You are great parents and your child is truly a gift – kiss Jadon for me! Camille

Leave a Reply

