Testimony Part III

I think if you were to ask most married couples if there was a turning point or moment in their relationship that made them come to realization that they wanted to spend the rest of their lives together, they’d all be able to remember where they were and what happened.

Well, I don’t precisely remember where I was when it happened, but I knew that I needed to be with her right then.

When I got the call from her that her Dad had just passed away, I can’t imagine that the shock that I was feeling was anything compared to Kristie’s. It’s been said that we as humans don’t act on instincts, but I can’t remember in that moment grappling with where I needed to be and what I needed to do. I knew that I needed to drop whatever I was doing to be there for Kristie.

In my life I’ve known what’s it’s been like to lose loved ones, and the family and friends that are there to go through that with you, end up becoming closer to you.

I’ve also seen families torn apart by arguing and fighting over the person’s belongings and who should get what.

What determines whether a family is brought closer through a tragedy or is ripped apart is dependent upon one thing.

Love

I spent the next several days after the funeral with her, and when I had to go back to work the following week, my heart yearned and ached to be with her. I didn’t want to ever be apart from her again. I knew that I loved her. So, consequently, I told her and proved to her that I loved her by putting a ring on her finger and asking her if I could spend the rest of my life with her.

A little over a year later, I stood before God and loved ones and vowed to never leave her nor forsake her. I knew what the Bible said about how Jesus loves us and willingly laid down His life for His bride. I knew that husbands were commanded to love their wives in the same way that He loves us.

It hasn’t always been easy. Dying to yourself never is. But I stood before God and a building full of witnesses, and committed to love her and to never, never leave her. Even when things get hard. Even when my pride gets in the way. Even if she hurts me and she’s at fault. Which I can say, hasn’t been that much.

Loving the way Christ loves us requires a strength beyond us. God doesn’t want us to just love when it’s easy or when you are loved. Anyone can love when they’re loved back. Marriage tests the amount of love that you have to give. How much love you have to give, is going to determine the success, or failure, of your marriage, or any relationship.

If you aren’t filled with love, then you have nothing to give. You can’t pour water out of an empty pitcher.

I had been filled with God’s love and I knew that I wanted to spend the rest of my life pouring my love into this wonderful woman that God had given me.

I’m so thankful that God didn’t give up on me when I was unwilling to love Him. When I remember how much God loves me, loving my wife no longer becomes a chore, but a joy….

One thought on “Testimony Part III

  1. awesome testimony – so glad you are both working with the youth – they sure need examples like you and your lovely bride!!!

Leave a comment